INAUGURATION OF EARL SHILTON HERITAGE BOARD

Submitted on 08 May 2019 by Carrianne Houghton

The Heritage Board, on the town’s Wood Street just across the road from the Cenotaph, features key sites and landmarks in the town’s history and marks the launch of the town’s Heritage Trails.  Funded by Earl Shilton Town Council and the Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council, key markers in history are featured, including The Hollow in the 1920’s, the High Street, the listed building used in the early 1900’s by the tailor Isaac Abbott on the corner of Almey’s Lane, and the stone gateway defending the motte and bailey fortress in Queen Elizabeth II Hall Field Park.

 

The heritage trails give a glimpse into the town’s past and helps to ensure its rich heritage is not forgotten. And include buildings on our Heritage Assets List, which means that they will have special significance if any planning application is put forward and will help to preserve them within the fabric of our town.   Copies of the trails are available from the Town Council Office and the Library as well as featuring on the Council’s website.

 

The town’s importance to the boot and shoe industry – when, in the 1950’s over 10 million pairs of shoes were produced – is highlighted in the Boot and Shoe trail.  Key landmarks are pointed out on the route.

 

The unique Jitty Walk is a guided walk around the town using the short cuts and rural footpaths used by Shilton folk over the years.

 

Country walks taking in the Brockey – a gentle open fields walk and The Oak and Ash – a 4km circular walk including a visit to a very special tree, are also available.

 

More information from the town council office – telephone 01455 843386 or via email at officeasst@earlshiltontc.org.uk,


© 2016 - Clerk: Mark Jackson, 21 Wood Street, Earl Shilton, Leicester, LE9 7NE